29 May '14, 12pm
Does Deleting Your Web History At Google Really Do Anything?
Just a quick point. The article says "there is no guarantee whatsoever that google does anything except for changing what they display to you."If you're on the page at https://history.google.com/history/ and click on the gear and then "Help" the page about deleting search history is at https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/465 and it says "What happens to your history when it's deleted When you delete items from your Web History, they are no longer associated with your Google Account. However, Google may store searches in a separate logs system to prevent spam and abuse and to improve our services." The article claims that there's no guarantee that Google does anything other than change the display. Google actually does quite a bit of work to disassociate items from your Google account if/when you delete them.